Portugal flag Portugal: Visió econòmica i política

El marc polític de Portugal

Political outline

Current political leaders
President: Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa  (since 9 March 2016) - PSD
Prime Minister: António Luis Santos da Costa (since 24 November 2015) - PS
Next election dates
Presidential: January 2026
Legislative: January 2026
Current Political Context
Presidential elections were held on 24 January 2021. The incumbent president, Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa, was re-elected for a second term.
Prime Minister Antonio Costa and his Socialist Party have been leading a minority government in recent years, with Portugal also holding the presidency of the Council of the European Union in the first half of 2021, under the motto “Time to deliver: a fair, green and digital recovery”. Nevertheless, early elections were called after Costa’s Cabinet failed to win parliamentary approval for the 2022 budget.
The development of Portugal’s lithium deposits has been a new government focus in light of the fact that the country sits on an estimated 10% of overall lithium deposits in Europe, sparking (peaceful) protests from environmental groups.
Main political parties

The main political parties in Portugal include:

Executive Power
The President is the Head of State and the commander-in-chief of the army. He or she is elected by universal suffrage for a five year term. After a general election, the leader of the majority party or coalition is usually appointed to be Prime Minister by the President, for a four year term. The Prime Minister is the head of the Government and holds executive power, which includes implementing laws and overseeing the everyday running of the country. The Council of Ministers is appointed by the President on the recommendation of the Prime Minister. There is also a Council of State, which acts as an advisory body to the President.
Legislative Power
Portuguese legislative power is unicameral. The parliament, called the Assembly of the Republic, has 230 seats. The members are elected by universal suffrage for a four year term. The executive branch of government is directly or indirectly dependent on the support of Parliament, often expressed by a vote of confidence. The Prime Minister cannot dissolve the Assembly, but the President can do so and call for an early election. Portuguese citizens enjoy considerable political rights.

Indicator of freedom of the press

Définition :

Note: Press Freedom

World Rank:

Indicator of political freedom

Définition :

Note: Political Freedom

Political freedom:

Political freedom in the world (interactive map)
Font: Freedom in the World Report, Freedom House


Return to top

Vols fer algun comentari sobre aquest contingut? Escriu-nos.


© Export Entreprises SA, Tots els drets reservats.